top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePenny Quotes

The Good Part by Sophie Cousens

5 Stars: A delightful comfort read!



I, like most people, have spent my life in a rush. In a rush to finish high school. In a rush to finish university. In a rush to secure the next great thing. But now, in my 25th year of life, I've made the conscious decision to slow down. And my goodness has it been painful! I've looked around at my friends and those in the periphery of my close knit circle, and wondered - am I behind? When will I achieve xyz milestone? Fortunately, this book got recommended to me at just the right time (thank you Sara Carrolli).


The Good Part is for all of the confused twenty-something-year-olds wanting to just skip to the good part of life. It sees Lucy Young - 26, single and at the bottom of the TV food chain - skip to the part of her life where she has it all together thanks to a magical wishing well. However, Lucy soon discovers that the good part of life also has a lot of bad. And that confusion, hurt and loss are not just an element of her twenties, but an element of life.


I flew through this book and found so so much comfort from it and I know you will too! It's written quite simplistically which makes it an easy read for those of us with the attention span of a TikTok. The characters are also well developed and are clear to me as day. Pick this up if you're also in the throes of a quarter-life-crisis, or even if you're not, there's something in here for everyone.


Most Memorable Quote:

"But maybe there aren't any shortcuts in life. Maybe you have to live it all, because it makes you who you are."

Love,


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page