top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePenny Quotes

After I Do by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Rating: 2 stars


 

I forgot I even had to write a review for this because I haven't thought about it once since I finished it. This might be my least favourite TJR book!


After I Do sees Lauren and Ryan, a couple that has grown apart in their marriage, take a break from each other for exactly 1 year. The only rule for their 1 year separation is that they must not contact each other. After their 1 year is up, they will decide what to do next.


This sounds like an interesting premise but the book was flawed in many ways and lacked the depth I had come to expect from TJR. The lack of a dual POV was one of the major flaws. We only ever saw Lauren's POV and although we heard from Ryan through an email format, I really think had we seen Ryan's perspective it would have created a more layered story. Additionally, even though we get flashbacks to how Lauren and Ryan fell in love, I never felt fully invested. They seemed to lack chemistry. Not to mention, both Lauren and Ryan are very unlikeable characters and felt very cookie-cutter to me.


The other issue is that the revelations that both Lauren and Ryan have about marriage are quite superficial at best. Spoilers ahead, so please stop reading now if you don't want to be spoiled. Lauren and Ryan decide to reconcile because they realise that love is never giving up. They both seem to just suddenly and unjustifiably realise that they have to make their marriage work and that they shouldn't have taken a year off. The whole ending just fell flat for me. There's also the issue of the fact that these two just couldn't stand each other when their marriage was falling apart. Like they literally hated each other. And all of a sudden at the end it's like they forgot about all that and thought we just have to keep trying and it'll work out?


A completely disappointing read for me, wouldn't recommend. However, I seem to be in the minority so please don't come at me if you don't agree with my opinions.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page