top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePenny Quotes

Cold Tangerines by Shauna Niequist

A feel-good collection of essays


Rating: 3.5 stars

 

I’ve always lived my life for the big moments – birthdays, graduation, etc. – but I’ve started to realise that waiting for the big moments makes you miss out on the joy of the everyday. Cheesy, I know, but it is important nonetheless. This book serves as a good reminder to those of us who are often disenchanted by the routines of life, that there is beauty in small things. And if you revel in this beauty enough, you can find a sense of fulfillment on most days, if not all.


Cold Tangerines is a collection of personal essays that showcase celebrations of everyday life. It is written beautifully and is lyrical at times. I could still relate to the stories even though I was not at a similar stage in life to the author. It’s funny how experiences can be unique to each person, but feelings are universal. So, while I haven’t had a child myself, I know the feeling of not wanting any harm to come to someone you love.


This is a Christian book, but don’t let that discourage you from reading it. Niequist does not try to shove religion down our throats. It is less a book about God, and more about life in general. The ups, the downs and the in-betweens.


I had to take away 1.5 stars because of the fat shaming littered throughout the book. Mind you it was written in 2007, so a different time. But I don’t think that’s a good enough excuse to wish that someone you’re jealous of should become fat (yep, she really wrote that). Problematic indeed. I found it kind of hypocritical considering that it's meant to be about God and accepting others.


Would I read this book again? Probably not. But I enjoyed it enough as a one-time read.

Most Memorable Quote:

“And like with anything you’re looking for, or anything you collect, the more aware of them you are, the more you see.”

Love,


5 views0 comments
bottom of page