top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePenny Quotes

It’s Fine, It’s Fine, It’s Fine: It’s Not by Taz Alam

A sparkling collection of poetry from the Youtuber we all love, ClickforTaz


Rating: 5 brilliant stars

 

I absolutely adored this book! A collection of deeply honest poems written by Click for Taz herself. I must confess, I only recently discovered Click for Taz on Youtube. She instantly charmed me with her self-deprecating humour and abundant energy. She keeps it very real on her channel, the same can be said for this book.


The book is divided into various categories, with the first half focusing on darker topics and the second half having a more positive vibe. I found myself relating so hard to this book. And I truly felt seen. Such is the power of poetry. I find that poetry is such an intimate art form, laying bare a poet’s feelings for everyone else to see. Once you read this book, dare I say you will have a good glimpse into the mind of Taz.

Others have commented on the simplistic style of the poems, but that was definitely a plus point for me! While I love me a good Wordsworth or Frost, sometimes they can feel inaccessible for audiences not deeply fond of reading poetry. Contemporary poetry has found it’s place in social media through Rupi Kaur and others, as it provides poetry in a more palatable style for the current generation. I do not think there is anything wrong with this as it encourages more people to read the often-underappreciated art form of poetry. I would gift this book to anyone new to poetry as it is a perfect foray into this world.


Overall, an incredibly well-written and vulnerable collection of poems. I am looking forward to re-reading this in years to come. A perfect pick-me up for anyone going through a tough time.


Most Memorable Quote:

“I find it hard to truly let people in, so I create versions of myself people like to see. I’ve played charades my whole life, so I no longer know what it means to be me.”

Love,

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page