top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePenny Quotes

Love on the Brain by Ali Hazelwood

A carbon copy of The Love Hypothesis


Rating: 2 disappointing stars

 

Have you read The Love Hypothesis? Yes? Well it seems that you have also read Love on the Brain. I am not kidding. These books are literally the same. While I thoroughly enjoyed The Love Hypothesis, I found that re-using the same plot in this book proved its downfall.


Love on the Brain sees Dr. Bee, neuroscientist extraordinaire, work on a NASA project with her archnemesis, Dr. Levi. I really thought this book was going to give me all the rom-com feels, but all it made me was incredibly annoyed. I’ll admit though that this may have been my own fault since I re-read The Love Hypothesis right before reading Love on the Brain. It made the similarities feel so obvious.


I am also quite done with Hazelwood’s obsession with size. WE GET IT. Bee is tiny and Levi is a mammoth of a man. I got annoyed by this theme in The Love Hypothesis as well. And Hazelwood mentions size in what feels like every chapter of this book.

Additionally, two of the major “mysteries” (*coughs*) of the book are so obvious to anyone with even half a brain. I’m not sure how someone with a frickin phd in neuroscience couldn’t seem to piece it together.


It would be remiss of me if I didn’t highlight the similarities I have been going on about, so here we go:

· Bee – tiny, quirky girl who is beautiful but blissfully unaware of this

· Levi – huge man who falls in love with girl for absolutely no reason (but is far less good at communicating this when compared to Adam)

· Guy – a friend of Levi who is cute and harmless (*cough cough*)


Oh and let’s not forget that preposterous ending. Who knew we would get an action sequence at the end of a rom com? An all-round unpleasant way to finish a completely lacklustre book.


Ok rant over.


Most Memorable Quote

“The intrinsic transience of human relationships. "

Love,



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page