top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePenny Quotes

Talking As Fast As I Can by Lauren Graham

Updated: Jul 7, 2018

My review of Lauren Graham's wonderful collection of short essays!


Rating: 4 stars


In three weeks, I had binged seven seasons and four movies of Gilmore Girls - a feat for some and child’s play for others. Obviously, I was desperately in need of something to satisfy the big, gaping Stars-Hollow shaped hole in my life. You should be pleased to know that this book did just the trick. In true Rory Gilmore style, I am going to review this book as a pros and cons list.

Pros: • The chapter titles: The titles were quirky and creative. They made absolutely no sense unless you actually read the chapter (e.g. “There Is Only One Betty White, or: Paper Towels, a Love Story”).

• The writing: The writing was stunning! I could hear Lauren Graham’s unique voice. It was as if Graham was truly talking to me. I liked the addition of the phone conversation with her father in “Fast Forward” - something I had never come across before in any of the books I have read.

• A perfect mix: The book was a perfect blend of funny, inspirational and intriguing.

• Old Lady Jackson, period – nothing else to add here, I need more of her!

Gilmore Girls : I loved the way “What It Was Like, Part One” was set out. Graham really nailed it there. For those of you who haven’t read it, she expresses her opinion about each season in terms of the setting, fashion/hair and what she loved. This really helped satiate my Gilmore Girls craving!

Cons: • The writing: I know I had put this on the ‘Pros’ section, but it’s also a con for me too. Sometimes I found myself not fully invested in the story, as if some of the words were superfluous. I found myself drifting and wondering what I’ll be having for lunch, instead of laughing. Therefore, I had to take off one star (please don’t hate me).

• There wasn’t more of it!

All in all, a wonderful read! This book is something that embodies the vibrancy and excitement of the “Life and Death Brigade” (*screams “In Omnia Paratus!” at laptop*).


Most Memorable Quote

“It’s hard to say exactly when it will happen, and it’s true that whatever you’re after may not drop down the moment you spend all your quarters, but someday soon a train is coming. In fact, it may already be on the way. You just don’t know it yet.”

Review also on GoodReads: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2266016440


Leave a comment if you'd like, I would love to hear what you think!


Finally, here is a bit of inspiration from Jess:

To my readers - you're all still contenders. Go and chase those dreams and make them a reality!


Love,


39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page