top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePenny Quotes

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

Rating: 5 stars


 

Cardan was giving Julia Stiles energy from 10 Things I Hate About You:



The Cruel Prince singlehandedly reignited my passion for YA fantasy. I wish I had read it sooner! The book is set in a Faerie world where Jude, a human, must learn to assimilate. She was taken to Faerie when she was seven after her parents were brutally murdered by her mother's ex-husband Madoc, a Faerie General. Along with her two sisters, Jude learns the way of the Faerie and soon forgets her human life.


Let's start off with the plot: boy did it deliver! I was truly enamoured by the Faerie world and was left guessing what would happen next. This book has at least two major twists, one of which made my jaw drop. The political intrigue was chef's kiss. There is also a subplot of romance that will charm you over time. I know a lot of people didn't enjoy this book because it's not romance heavy, but I would disagree. While there are no cheesy declarations of love, there is a simmering hatred between the two main characters rooted in attraction. There are even hints of love underneath all of this, which was so enjoyable to read!


The characters of the book were very well fleshed out. Jude makes for a compelling lead as does Cardan. I did not care for Jude's twin, Taryn, but I don't think anyone liked her. Jude's Faerie guardian, Madoc was a very layered individual as well. The unique thing about this book is that there are multiple "villians" but they are written with such specificity and complexity.


Overall, my first 5 star read of the year and it was such a wonderful ride! I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the series. People have criticised this book for its lack of world-building, but I disagree. The world-building is done seamlessly and simplistically. I would recommend it if you are looking for a YA fantasy that has an action-packed plot and a teeny-tiny subplot of romance. Trust me, it's worth the read!


Most Memorable Quote:

Most of all, I hate you because I think of you. Often. It's disgusting and I can't stop.

Love,


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page