top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePenny Quotes

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Updated: Jul 18, 2018

Had me captivated from the very first page!


Rating: 5 stars

 

I was talking with my friend this morning about how so many of her female relatives suffer through marriages that are far from what they want or deserve, but they endure it anyway. We continued talking about how women have been enduring for centuries and that it is time for that to change. We only get one life – why must we endure when we have every right to live it as brilliantly as we can?


So after this conversation, I felt a fire burning within me and fortunately, I stumbled upon this gem of a book. It is a short-read, which is great for all those out there going through a reading slump. We Should All Be Feminists is adapted from a TedTalk that the author gave, but in just 40 short pages my mind opened up.


The author eloquently explains why feminism matters. She also provided a wonderful answer on something I have been grappling with for a while - why are feminists called feminists even though they are fighting for equal rights for both males and females - for human rights? (check out my memorable quote section at the end of this review to see the answer to this question)


Overall, an eye-opening read and it is exactly what I needed to release all of that anger that boils within me when I think of the atrocities women have had to endure. It is wonderfully written - not angry, not preachy, not judgmental, not superficial, just utterly thought-provoking.


Most Memorable Quote

“Feminism is, of course, part of human rights in general – but to choose to use the vague expression human rights is to deny the specific and particular problem of gender…It would be a way of denying that the problem of gender targets women. That the problem was not about being human, but specifically about being a female human."

Love,

32 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page